Thursday, June 7, 2012

Book Buzz: Bad to the Bone by Katy Munger: Casey Jones Mysteries

Bad To The Bone (Casey Jones mystery series)“The cover copy compares Katy Munger to Janet Evanovich and Sue Grafton, but I find Casey Jones more interesting, complex, (and yes, sexy) than Stephanie Plum or Kinsey Milhone could ever hope to be.” ~ Jerry D. Rhoades, Amazon Review

Hello Digital Book Today readers. The Book Buzz segment today features Bad to the Bone (Casey Jones Mysteries #4) by Katy Munger. The Casey Jones series has been enjoyed by readers who enjoy a strong lead character (Casey Jones) who is a smart and gutsy female sleuth. Fans of Janet Evanovich and Sue Grafton will not want to miss out on the adventures of the sassy Casey Jones. Bad to the Bone is rated 4.8 stars on 23 reviews (from the paperback and Kindle version combined), but now is available for the Kindle. There are currently 5 books in the Casey Jones mystery series. Book #1 is LegWork (4.2 stars on 44 reviews). Go ahead and grab a copy of Bad to the Bone. FREE! Bad to the Bone is FREE from 6/6 – 6/10!

“I like my mysteries with a little meat on them and Casey Jones is certainly a meaty character–and all woman, to boot… This is an excellent series, and I eagerly await the next installment. Go get ‘em, Casey!” ~ A Customer, Amazon Review

“It is a true PI novel in that Casey figures out pretty early who her main suspect is and there are not a bunch of red herrings or suspects like in an Agatha Christie book. But the villain is great, especially if you have ever known someone like this particular villain which I would guess most people have.” ~ Sally from Denver, Amazan Review

Book Description: Don’t mess with North Carolina’s Casey Jones — smart mouth ex-con, unlicensed PI and reluctant partner to a Barry White wannabe. Casey’s big and bad, with attitude to match her altitude. Especially when she’s been double-crossed.
At first, Casey proves a sucker for the fragile blonde who claims her estranged husband has disappeared with their child. But when Casey locates the fugitive spouse a little too easily, she begins to suspect that the lovely Tawny Bledsoe has played her for a fool. Especially when Casey gets stiffed on the fee, then finds herself embroiled in a murder case with Tawny’s name written all over it. Bad check in hand and a bad taste in her mouth, Casey resolves to stop Tawny once and for all, but the battle quickly turns personal with Tawny proves more than a match for the the irrepressible Casey. Ego rattled, Casey laces up her high-tops to track her nemesis to Florida for a Saturday night cat fight. Casey must leave her sweet-and-sour southern ways far behind in order to prove that Tawny Bledsoe is one bad to the bone babe who belongs behind bars — no matter what it takes to bring her down. .Read more on Amazon.

About the Author:
Katy Munger is an American writer best known for writing the Casey Jones mystery series. She has also written under the name Gallagher Gray (the Hubbert & Lil series mystery series) and is currently writing the Dead Detective series as Chaz McGee.All of these books are now available in Kindle format.
She was born in Honolulu, Hawaii and raised in Raleigh, North Carolina. She is a former book reviewer for The Washington Post and was a founder of Tart Noir, a subgenre of crime fiction created in part by Munger, Sparkle Hayter, Laura Lippman, and Lauren Henderson.
She began her writing career as Gallagher Gray, writing four books in the Hubbert & Lil series in the 1990s. During the late ’90s, she began the Casey Jones series and is now writing the Dead Detective series, under the pseudonym, Chaz McGee. Beginning in 2012, her Dead Detective series will begin appearing in hardback from Severn House publishers under her real name.
Books By Katy Munger
Hubbert & Lil series (as Gallagher Gray)
* Hubbert & Lil: Partners In Crime (1991)[13] * A Cast Of Killers (1992) * Death Of A Dream Maker (1995) * Motive For Murder (1996)
Casey Jones series
* Legwork (1997) * Out of Time (1998) * Money to Burn (1999)[14] * Bad to the Bone (2000) * Better Off Dead (2001) * Bad Moon on the Rise (2009)
Dead Detective series (as Chaz McGee)
* Desolate Angel (2009) * Angel Interrupted (2010)
Get your copy of Bad to the Bone on Amazon
Visit the website:
Follow on Twitter: @katymunger
Where Stephanie Plum is still bumbling her way through after how many years on the job?, Casey is a smark cookie (or Krispy Kreme donut) who has the chutzpah to face her troubled past as it intersects her latest manhunt. ~ Carol A. Strickland, Amazon Reviews
Don’t forget to see our popular The Top 100 Best Free Kindle Books which is updated daily

No comments:

Post a Comment