Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Book Buzz: The Ninth Step by Barbara Taylor Sissel: Ideal for fans of Picoult, Delinsky, and Shreve

The Ninth Step by Barbara Taylor SisselBarbara Taylor Sissel crafts a sure-handed, beautiful garden of a novel on ground tilled by Jodi Picoult and Anita Shreve.” ~ Glen Cantrell, author of The Resume

Hello Digital Book Today readers. T0day our book buzz segment features The Ninth Step by Barbara Taylor Sissel. Fans of Jodi Picoult, Barbara Delinsky, and Anita Shreve will enjoy The Ninth Step. The readers of this book have given it a very strong rating of 4.5 stars on 32 reviews. The Ninth Step is a story of redemption, of being brought to your knees in the sober light of day to face a monstrous error and yet somehow finding the strength to stand up, to try to make it right. Even if that decision breaks your heart, endangers your freedom and ultimately threatens your life. Don’t forget to check out The Volunteer (4.0 stars, 23 reviews) by Barbara Taylor Sissel.

Barbara Taylor Sissel has produced a well crafted, well written novel. But most importantly, this is a great read. Here is a story that compels you to keep on reading. She leads you into thinking you have the plot figured out and WHAMMO, she takes you on a new exciting path leading to the final important discovery. ” ~ V. Lonnquist, Amazon Review

The Ninth Step is an unforgettable story of loss, forgiveness, and the true cost of redemption, as beautifully written as it is compelling.” ~ Colleen Thompson, Bestselling author of Phantom of the French Quarter and The Salt Maiden

Book Description: Livie Saunders is fluent in the language of flowers; she taught the meanings to her fiancé, Cotton O’Dell, but then Cotton vanishes without explanation on their wedding day forcing Livie to learn the language of desolation. Heartbroken, she buries her wedding gown beneath a garden pond and resolves to move on, but there are nights when she slips . . . into a sequined red dress and a pair of stiletto heels, a stranger’s bed, a little anonymous oblivion that is not without consequence. Still, she recovers a semblance of ordinary life and imagines she is content. But then, six years later, Cotton returns and her carefully constructed world shatters. The old questions bite like flies. Questions that Cotton O’Dell prays he can answer. He prays that Livie, whom he has never stopped loving, will be moved to forgive him. … Read more on Amazon.

About the Author:

At the heart of every crime, there’s a family…. That fact is what drives Barbara’s fiction. It’s issue oriented, threaded with elements of suspense and defined by its particular emphasis on how crime effects families, the victim’s family, the perpetrator’s family. She indie published her first novel, The Ninth Step, in August of 2011 and she hasn’t looked back since. The Volunteer came out in October of 2011 and in November 2011, The Last Innocent Hour, originally published by Panther Creek Press in trade paper was digitized for release as an indie e-book.
Currently Barbara is represented by the fabulous Barbara Poelle of the Irene Goodman Literary Agency and under contract with MIRA/Harlequin for Evidence of Life, which will make its print debut in April 2013, and a second novel that will appear in 2014.
Although she once lived on the grounds of a prison facility in Kentucky with her then prison warden husband, (A fact that might explain the nature of her writing.) she now resides near Houston, Texas. An avid gardener and reader, Barbara is the mother of two wonderful sons, who are an endless source of learning, laughter and joy.
Grab yourself a copy of The Ninth Step today on Amazon.
Visit her website:www.barbarataylorsissel.com
Follow Barbara on Twitter: @barbarasissel

No comments:

Post a Comment